Hope Inn

The comparatively short life of the main stretch of Barrack Street coincided with the boom in beerhouses across the Three Towns, notwithstanding that, the presence of 14 licensed premises across some 28 properties was fairly intense and a reflection of the fact that the street stood right across the original entrance of the Royal Marine Barracks.

In 1861 however the Admiralty began negotiations for the land upon which most of Barrack Street stood and by 1867 a brand new, and altogether more impressive, gatehouse and entrance had replaced the original, long, narrow, colonnaded entrance.

No.1 Barrack Street, the Hope Inn, was one of the many casualties, and so sadly another unusual, although by no means unique, pub name was lost to the area.


1844-1860s - James Bradley